Useful Posts

Woman Legal Rights in India

Woman Legal Rights in India

1. The Prohibition of Child Marriage Act, 2002

The object of the Act is to prohibit ritual of child marriage and connected and incidental matters. to make sure that child marriage is eradicated from inside the society, the govt. of the Republic of India enacted prevention of child marriage Act 2006 by substitution of the earlier legislation of child marriage Restraint Act 1929.

Delhi high court determined in Association for Human Rights v Union of Republic of India and others. “Child marriage could be a violation of human rights, compromising the development of women and infrequently resulting in early gestation and social isolation, with very little education and poor vocational education reinforcing the gendered nature of poverty”.

2. Special Marriage Act, 1954

The Special Marriage Act deals with inter-caste and inter-religion marriages.This information is the most important one for every Indian to know as it is through this that they can avail them. This Act covers marriages among Hindus, Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Jains, and Buddhists. This act applies to every state of India, except the state of Jammu & Kashmir.Age: Bridegroom: 21 years & Bride: 18 years.

3. Dowry Prohibition Act, 1961

An Act to prohibit the giving or taking of dowry. Be it enacted by Parliament within the Twelfth Year of the Republic of the Republic of India as follows: Short title, extent, and commencement. This Act is also known as the Dowry Prohibition Act, 1961. It extends to the complete of Republic of India except for the State of Jammu and Kashmir.The dowery Prohibition (Amendment) Act of 1984 prescribes a minimum punishment of two years imprisonment and fine to anyone demanding dowry. as a result of this dowry Prohibition Act, an individual who offers or takes, or helps within the giving or taking of dowry can be sentenced to jail for 5 years and penalized Rs.15,000/- or the amount of the value of dowry, whichever is more. This Act is prohibited to {give|to offer|to provide|to present|to administer|to allow|to convey|to grant|to relinquish} or to agree to give, directly or indirectly, any property or valuable security, in connection with a marriage.

4. Indian Divorce Act, 1969

The Indian Divorce Act was legislated in the year 1869 and this was the exact replica of the English Matrimonial Causes Act, 1857. England itself repealed that Act in the year 1923 because it had several provisions that were discriminatory for women, but it is only after 132 years of its inception that amendment has been made to this particular law in India.
Section 74 ( 1 ) of the planned Christian marriage Bill, 1999 (Government of Republic of India Draft) says — 1) The Indian Divorce Act, 1869, the Indian Christian Marriage Act, 1872, the Indian and Colonial Divorce Jurisdiction Act, 1940, the Indian Divorce Act, 1945, and any enactment corresponding to the Indian Christian Marriage Act, 1872, effective within the territories which, straightaway before the first day of November 1956, were comprised of the State of Travancore-Cochin and Manipur, are here repealed.

5. Maternity Benefit Act, 1861

An Act to regulate the employment of women inbound establishment certain period before and when childbirth and to provide for maternity benefit and certain alternative benefits.
Amendments to the Maternity Benefit Act, 1961.

6. Medical Termination of Pregnancy Act, 1971

The Indian abortion laws fall under the Medical Termination of pregnancy (MTP) Act, that was enacted by the Indian Parliament within the year 1971 with the intention of reducing the incidence of illegal abortion and consequent maternal mortality and morbidity.This Act could also be referred to as the Medical Termination of Pregnancy Act, 1971. It extends to the entire of the Republic of India except for the state of Jammu and Kashmir.

7. Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace, 2003

An Act to provide protection against sexual harassment of girls at the workplace and for the prevention and redressal of complaints of harassment and for matters connected with that or incidental to it.WHEREAS sexual harassment results in violation of thefundamental rights of a woman to equality under articles 14 and 15 of the Constitution of Republic of India and her right to life and to measure with dignity under article 21 of the Constitution and right to practice any profession or to carry on any occupation, trade or business which includes a right to a secure environment free from sexual harassment.

8. Indecent representation of women (prevention) Act, 1986

1.This Act may be called the Indecent Representation of Women (Prohibition) Act, 1986.
2.It extends to the whole of India, except the State of Jammu and Kashmir.
3.It shall come into force on such date as the Central Government may, by notification in the Official Gazette, appoint.

9. National Commission for Women Act, 1990

The National Commission for Women was set up as a statutory body in January 1992 under the National Commission for Women Act, 1990 ( Act №20 of 1990 of Govt.of India ) to : the Constitutional and Legal safeguards for women ;
2.recommend remedial legislative measures ;
3.facilitate redressal of grievances and
4.advise the Government on all policy matters affecting women.

10. Equal Remuneration Act, 1976

The salient features of the Equal Remuneration Act, 1976. The Act is a Central Legislation and applies to the whole of India. The objective of the Act is to provide for protection against discrimination of women workers on the ground of sex, about the payment of equal remuneration in the matter of employment.

No comments